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** Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code. ** 

Revised 03/21/2024  www.azed.gov/EDUCATOR-CERTIFICATlON/ 

https://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/azedcert 

Application for Renewal of Certificate 
Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490 • Telephone: 602.542.4367 

General Information and Instructions 

• Renewable Certificates: This form may be used to apply for renewal of the following certificates: Standard

Teaching, Administrative, School Counselor, School Psychologist, Speech-Language Pathologist, Athletic

Coaching, Standard Adult Education or Native American Language. Note: A certificate with deficiencies may not

be renewed. Please link to the Deficiency Removal Information if your certificate has allowable deficiencies.

• Renewal Time-frame: A certificate may be renewed six months prior to its expiration date and up to ten years

after it expires. If your certificate has expired for more than ten years you must reapply for certification

under the requirements in effect at the time of re-application.

• Certificate Alignment: Applicants who hold multiple renewable certificates may renew all certificates at one time

in order to align the expiration date of each certificate. Certificates being aligned shall be renewed at the same time

as the certificate that will expire first.

Application Checklist 

Submit the following: 

□ A completed Application for Renewal.

■ Answer every background question, sign and date the application.

■ If you answer "Yes" to any of the background questions, you must submit a completed Explanation of lncident 
form for each incident, even if the incident was previously disclosed.

□ A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (AZDPS IVP) fingerprint 
clearance card.

□ Renewal fee: $20 per certificate to be renewed or aligned. Payment may be made by:

■ Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) online via the AzEDCert Educator Portal with a $2.00 convenience fee.

■  A check or money order made out to "Arizona Department of Education", if applying by mail or in person. 
Credit card payments may be accepted if applying in person. Cash is not accepted.

□ Documentation that you meet the requirements for renewal. Note: Documentation is not required if your certificate has 
expired for at least two years, but not more than ten years.

■ School District/Charter or Private School Verification of Professional Development: In-service training 
hours may be verified by a superintendent or personnel director on pg. 4 o f this application. Educators who are 
currently working in an Arizona public schools should have the district o r school human resources office verify 
their professional development hours electronically through the AZEDCert Portal.

■ Official transcript(s). Electronic official transcripts must be sent directly by the college or university to 
Certification@azed.gov. Paper official transcripts must be original (no photocopies) and mailed in a sealed 
address to the Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit.

■  Approved Professional License: Applicants may meet requirements for renewal with proof of one of the 
following: 1. A valid professional license as a counselor, social worker, psychologist, or speech pathologist 
issued by the appropriate state agency in this state or in another state; or 2. A valid National Board for 
Professional Teaching Standards certificate; or 3. A valid Certificate of Clinical of Clinical Competence in 
Speech Pathology from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. 4. A Nationally Certified School 
Psychologist Credential issued by the National Association.

■ Other Documentation: Please see the Professional Development Information on the next page for details on 
other documentation that may be used to verify professional development activities.

■ Certificate has expired for 2 years: Individuals who hold a renewable certificate that has expired for at least 
two (2) years, but not more than 10 years, and who are in good standing are not required to provide the 
documentation indicated above.
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APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION - CERTIFICATION UNIT 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490 • Telephone: (602) 542-4367 

Professional Development Information 

Renewable certificates may be renewed with proof of 15 clock hours of professional development activities for each 

year of the certificate term. *One semester hour of college coursework is equivalent to 15 clock hours of professional 

development activities. The clock hours or semester hours may be completed in various increments per year. 

Professional Development Activities: Professional development must relate to Arizona academic or professional 

educator standards or apply toward the attainment of an additional Arizona certificate, endorsement or approved area, 

and may include training regarding suicide awareness and prevention; child abuse, human trafficking of children, and the 

sexual abuse of children, including warning signs that a child may be a victim of child abuse, human trafficking, or sexual 

abuses; screening, intervention, accommodation, use of technology and advocacy for students with reading impairments, 

including dyslexia; college and career readiness; or other training programs explicitly permitted or required by state law. 

Professional development shall consist of any of the following activities: 

I I 

*Note: Applicants who are renewing an Athletic Coaching certificate must also submit documentation of valid

certification in First Aid and CPR.

Professional Development Activities: 

Academic courses related to education or a subject area 

taught in Arizona public schools. 

Documentation Required: 

Official transcripts from an accredited institution. Each 
semester hour of courses is equivalent to 15 hours of 

professional development. 

District or school-sponsored in-service training specifically 

designed for professional development. 

Written verification from the sponsoring district or school 

stating the dates of participation and number of clock hours 

earned. 

Professional conferences and workshops related to the 

profession of teaching or the field of public education. 

Conference agenda and a statement or certificate from 

the sponsoring organization noting clock hours earned in 

training sessions. Limited to 30 clock hours per year. 

Business internship. Internship shall be based on an 

agreement between a business and a district or school with 

the stated objective of aligning teaching curriculum with 

workplace skills. 

Written verification by the sponsoring business and district 

or school stating the dates of participation and number of 

clock hours earned. Limited to 80 clock hours. 

Educational research. Research shall be sponsored by a 

research facility or an accredited institution or funded by a 

grant. 

The published report of the research or verification by 

the sponsoring agency and a statement of the dates of 

participation and the number of clock hours earned. 

Serving in a leadership role of a professional organization 

related to the profession of teaching or the field of public 

education. 

Written verification by the governing body of the 

professional organization of the dates of service and clock 

hours earned. Limited to 30 clock hours per year. 

Serving on a visitation team for a school accreditation 

agency. 

Written verification from the accreditation agency of the 

dates of service and clock hours earned. Limited to 60 

hours per year. 

http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/


Arizona State Board of Education 

Professional Practices for Certificate Holders 

Standards for Imposing Certificated Educator Sanctions 

Consistent with A.R.S. §15-203(20), the State Board of Education may 

impose disciplinary action upon a certified individual, including a letter 

of censure, suspension, suspension with conditions or revocation of a 

certificate upon a finding of immoral or unprofessional conduct. 

Criminal Offenses 

Pursuant to administrative code R7-2-1307 and ARS § 15-550, the Board 

shall revoke the certification of a person who has been convicted of 

or admitted in open court or pursuant to a plea agreement any of the 

following criminal offenses in this state or similar offenses in another 

jurisdiction: 

1. Sexual abuse of a minor 

2. Incest 

3. First-degree murder 

4. Second degree murder 

5. Manslaughter

6. Sexual assault

7. Sexual exploitation of a minor 

8. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor 

9. A dangerous crime against children as defined in A.R.S. §13- 

604.01 

10. Armed robbery 

11. Aggravated assault

12. Sexual conduct with a minor 

13. Molestation of a child 

14. Exploitation of minors involving drug offenses

Upon notification that a certificated individual has been convicted of a 

nonrenewable offense, the Board shall revoke the certificate. 

Unprofessional and Immoral Conduct 

Individuals holding certificates issued by the Board pursuant to R7- 

2-601 and individuals applying for certificates issued by the Board 

pursuant to R7-2-601 shall: 

1. Make reasonable efforts to protect pupils from conditions

harmful to learning, health, or safety;

2. Account for all funds collected from pupils, parents, or school

personnel; 

3. Adhere to provisions of the Uniform System of Financial

Records related to use of school property, resources, or

equipment; and

4. Abide by copyright restrictions, security, or administration 

procedures for a test or assessment.

Individuals holding certificates issued by the Board pursuant to R7- 

2-601 and individuals applying for certificates issued by the Board 

pursuant to R7-2-601 shall not: 

1. Discriminate against or harass any pupil or school employee

on the basis of race, national origin, religion, sex, including

sexual orientation, disability, color or age;

2. Deliberately suppress or distort information or facts relevant

to a pupil's academic progress;

3. Misrepresent or falsify pupil, classroom, school, or district­ 

level data from the administration of a test or assessment;

4. Engage in a pattern of conduct for the sole purpose or with the

sole intent of embarrassing or disparaging a pupil;

5. Use professional position or relationships with pupils, parents,

or colleagues for improper personal gain or advantage;

6. Falsify or misrepresent documents, records, or facts related to

professional qualifications or educational history or character;

7.  Assist in the professional certification or employment of a

person the certificate holder knows to be unqualified to hold

a position;

8.  Accept gratuities or gifts that influence judgment in the

exercise of professional duties;

9. Possess, consume, or be under the influence of alcohol on 

school premises or at school-sponsored activities;

10. Illegally possess, use, or be under the influence of marijuana,

dangerous drugs, or narcotic drugs, as each is defined in A.R.S.

§ 13-3401; 

11. Make any sexual advance towards a pupil or child, either

verbal, written, or physical;

12. Engage in sexual activity, a romantic relationship, or dating of

a pupil or child;

13. Submit fraudulent requests for reimbursement of expenses or

for pay;

14. Use school equipment to access pornographic, obscene, or

illegal materials;

15. Engage in conduct which would discredit the teaching

profession. 

Individuals found to have engaged in unprofessional or immoral conduct 

shall be subject to, and may be disciplined by, the Board. 

Resignation as an Unprofessional Act and Penalty: ARS §15-545 

A certificated teacher shall not resign after signing and returning his 

contract, unless the resignation is first approved by the governing board. 

A teacher who resigns contrary to this section shall be deemed to commit 

an unprofessional act and, upon request of the governing board, shall be 

subject to such disciplinary action, including suspension and revocation 

of certificate, as the state board of education deems appropriate. 

Failing to Report of Immoral or Unprofessional Conduct 

Pursuant to ARS §15-514, any certificated person or governing board 

member who reasonably suspects or receives a reasonable allegation 

that a person certificated by the state board of education has engaged 

in conduct involving minors that would be subject to the reporting 

requirements of section 13-3620 (mandatory reporting) shall report or 

cause reports to be made to the department of education in writing as 

soon as reasonably practicable but not later than three business days 

after the person first suspects or receives allegation of the conduct. 

The superintendent of a school district or the chief administrator of 

a charter school who reasonably suspects or receives a reasonable 

allegation that an act of immoral or unprofessional conduct that would 

constitute grounds for dismissal or criminal charges by a certificated 

person has occurred shall report the conduct to the department of 

education. 

Failure to report information as required in ARS §15-514 by a certificated 

person constitutes grounds for disciplinary action by the state board of 

education. 

A governing board member or school district employee who has control 

over personnel decisions and who reasonably suspects or receives a 

reasonable allegation that a person certificated by the state board of 

education has engaged in conduct involving minors that would be subject 

to the reporting requirements of ARS §§ 13-3620 and 15-514 shall not 

accept the resignation of the certificate holder until these suspicions or 

allegations have been reported to the State Board of Education. 

Filing a Complaint against a Certificate Holder 

The Investigative Unit may be reached at (602) 542-2972 or 

 investigation@azed.gov 

For Further Information: Call or Email 

State Board of Education 

(602) 542-5057  inbox@azsbe.az.gov

Updated 10/28/16

Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shalllimit all occupational regulations 

to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessaryto specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare 

concern. Pursuant tosections41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to 

petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general 

jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, 

Arizona Revised Statutes. 

mailto:investigation@azed.gov
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VERIFICATION OF RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 
ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION - CERTIFICATION UNIT 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490 • Telephone: (602) 542-4367 

Complete this form by typing or print legibly using black ink. 

PERSONAL INFORMATION 

Social Security or Educator ID Number (EIN): Date of Birth: Gender: ☐ M ☐ F

Applicant's Full Legal Name: 

last First Middle 

Former Last Name(s): 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone: Email Address: 

E t h n i c i t y : (Gender and Ethnicity are requested for federal reporting purposes only)
☐American Indian or Alaskan Native  ☐Asian or Pacific Islander  ☐Black  or African-American (not Hispanic)
☐Hispanic or Latino  ☐White (not Hispanic) ☐Other

Option 1: District Verification 

Arizona Districts and Charter schools should verify renewal 

requirements via AzEDCert and no longer on this form. 

Out of state LEA: 

I verify that the applicant has completed  clock hours of professional development activities during the valid period of the 
certificates listed above which are to be renewed. 

Verified by: 

Signature Type or Print Name of Superintendent/Personnel Officer Date 

Title 

Option 2: Applicant Verification 

Name of District, School/Charter Holder 

___ I have completed college or university coursework to meet renewal requirements. Official transcripts will be

   submitted. 

_____ I have completed professional conferences, workshops, or other approved professional development activities. 

       Certificates of training or other appropriate verification of professional development activities will be submitted. 

_____ I hold one of the following credentials: 1. A valid professional license as a counselor, social worker,   

 psychologist, or speech pathologist issued by the appropriate state agency in this state or in another state; or 2. 

A valid National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certificate; or 3. A valid Certificate of   

Clinical Competence in Speech Pathology (CCC-SLP) from the American Speech-Language-Hearing  

      Association. A copy of my professional license, NBPTS certificate, or ASHA membership card will be 

 submitted. 

_____My certificate has expired for at least two years, but not more than ten years, and I am in good standing. 

COMPLETE AND 

SUBMITTHISPAGE 

http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/
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APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATE 

ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION - CERTIFICATION UNIT 

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490 • Telephone: (602) 542-4367 

Renewal Fee: $20 for each certificate to be renewed or aligned. 

• Credit Card payments (Visa or MasterCard) are accepted in person at the Phoenix Certification Office or via the

AzEDCert Educator Portal with a $2.00 convenience fee.

• Payments by check and money order are accepted in person and via mail. Cash is not accepted.

• Fees are nonrefundable.

List the certificates that you would like to renew and/or align: 

Answer every question, sign and date. If "YES" is indicated for any of the following questions, please attach a full 

explanation to this application; a statement must be provided with each application. 

1. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever received any disciplinary action, including revocation, suspension or reprimand,

      involving any professional certification or license? 

2. Yes ___ No ___Are you now or have you ever been under investigation for any type of misconduct related to a

      professional license or certificate in this state or any other jurisdiction regardless of outcome? 

3. Yes ___ No ___Are you now or have you ever been under investigation or have you ever been the subject of any

         investigation by the Department of Child Safety or a similar department in this state or another 

      jurisdiction? 

4. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been convicted of a felony offense?

5. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been arrested, cited and released, or received a criminal summons for any

         offense, regardless if eventually convicted of a crime or if a conviction was set aside or 

      expunged? 

6. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been arrested, cited and released, or received a criminal summons for any offense

         involving a child, regardless if eventually convicted of a crime or if a conviction was set aside or 

      expunged? 

I understand that pursuant to ARS § 15-534, any person who makes a false statement, representation or certification in 

any application for certification is guilty of a misdemeanor offense. I grant permission for the Arizona Department of 

Education to obtain a records check from the federal, state, county, and/or local law enforcement agencies and Department 

of Family Services. I have read and understood the rules and statutes related to unprofessional and immoral conduct 

including resignation from a contracted position without authorization and duties to report as required by law. I swear or 

affirm that the foregoing information completed by me, or submitted by me for certification purposes is, to the best of my 

knowledge, true and correct. Furthermore, should any part or all of the infonnation herein provided prove to be false, I 

recognize that it shall be just cause for revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action against any certificate issued to 

me by the Arizona Department of Education or denial of my application. 

Applicant's Signature Date 

COMPLETE AND

SUBMIT THIS PAGE SUBMITTHISPAGE 
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