
Application for Renewal of Substitute or JROTC Certificate 

** Requirements may be subject to change and are fully referenced in the Arizona Revised Statutes and Administrative Code. ** 
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Arizona Department of Education - Certification Unit 
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 6490, Phoenix, AZ 85005-6490 • Telephone: (602) 542-4367 

General Instructions and Information 

Use this form to renew the following certificates: Substitute or JROTC. 
Renewal Time Frame: A certificate may be renewed six months prior to its expiration date and up to ten years after it 
expires. If your certificate has expired for more than ten years you must reapply for certification under the 
requirements in effect at the time of re-application. 

Submit The Following: 

• Completed Application for Renewal.
• Answer every background question, sign and date the application.
• If you answer “Yes” to any of the background questions, you must submit a completed Explanation of Incident

form for each incident, even if the incident was previously disclosed.
• A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (AZDPS IVP) fingerprint

clearance card (plastic).
• Renewal Fee: $20 for each certificate to be renewed. Payment may be made by:

• Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) online via the AzEDCert Educator Portal with a $2.00 convenience fee.
• Check or money order in person and via mail. Cash is not accepted.
• Credit card (Visa or MasterCard) in person at the Phoenix certification office.

To apply in person or via mail, complete this form by typing or print legibly using black ink. 

Personal Information 
Social Security or Educator ID Number (EIN): Date of Birth: Gender: M F 

Applicant’s Full Legal Name: 
Last First Middle 

Former Last Name(s): 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip: 

Phone: Email Address: 

Ethnicity: (Gender and Ethnicity are requested for federal reporting purposes only) 

American Indian or Alaskan Native Asian or Pacific Islander Black or African-American (not Hispanic) 
Hispanic or Latino White (not Hispanic) Other 

Renewal Fee: $20 for each certificate to be renewed. 
• Credit Card payments (Visa or MasterCard) are accepted in person at the Phoenix Certification Office or via the

AzEDCert Educator Portal with a $2.00 convenience fee.
• Payments by check and money order are accepted in person and via mail. Cash is not accepted.
• Fees are nonrefundable.

For more information, visit us at: 
www.azed.gov/educator-certification/azedcert 
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Answer every question, sign and date. If “YES” is indicated for any of the following questions, please attach a full 
explanation to this application; a statement must be provided with each application. 

1. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever received any disciplinary action, including revocation, suspension or reprimand,
        involving any professional certification or license? 

2. Yes ___ No ___Are you now or have you ever been under investigation for any type of misconduct related to a
        professional license or certificate in this state or any other jurisdiction regardless of outcome? 

3. Yes ___ No ___Are you now or have you ever been under investigation or have you ever been the subject of any
   investigation by the Department of Child Safety or a similar department in this state or another 

        jurisdiction? 
4. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been convicted of a felony offense?
5. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been arrested, cited and released, or received a criminal summons for any

  offense, regardless if eventually convicted of a crime or if a conviction was set aside or 
        expunged? 

6. Yes ___ No ___Have you ever been arrested, cited and released, or received a criminal summons for any offense
    involving a child, regardless if eventually convicted of a crime or if a conviction was set aside or 

        expunged? 

I understand that pursuant to ARS § 15-534, any person who makes a false statement, representation or certification in 
any application for certification is guilty of a misdemeanor offense. I grant permission for the Arizona Department of 
Education to obtain a records check from the federal, state, county, and/or local law enforcement agencies and Department 
of Family Services. I have read and understood the rules and statutes related to unprofessional and immoral conduct 
including resignation from a contracted position without authorization and duties to report as required by law. I swear or 
affirm that the foregoing information completed by me, or submitted by me for certification purposes is, to the best of my 
knowledge, true and correct. Furthermore, should any part or all of the information herein provided prove to be false, I 
recognize that it shall be just cause for revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action against any certificate issued to 
me by the Arizona Department of Education or denial of my application. 

Applicant’s Signature Date 

COMPLETE AND 
SUBMITTHISPAGE 
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Arizona State Board of Education 
Professional Practices for Certificate Holders 

Standards for Imposing Certificated Educator Sanctions 
Consistent with A.R.S. §15-203(20), the State Board of Education may 
impose disciplinary action upon a certified individual, including a letter 
of censure, suspension, suspension with conditions or revocation of a 
certificate upon a finding of immoral or unprofessional conduct. 

Criminal Offenses 
Pursuant to administrative code R7-2-1307 and ARS § 15-550, the Board 
shall revoke the certification of a person who has been convicted of 
or admitted in open court or pursuant to a plea agreement any of the 
following criminal offenses in this state or similar offenses in another 
jurisdiction: 

1. Sexual abuse of a minor 

2. Incest 

3. First-degree murder 

4. Second degree murder 

5. Manslaughter 

6. Sexual assault 

7. Sexual exploitation of a minor 

8. Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor 

9. A dangerous crime against children as defined in A.R.S. §13-
604.01 

10. Armed robbery 

11. Aggravated assault 

12. Sexual conduct with a minor 

13. Molestation of a child 

14. Exploitation of minors involving drug offenses 

Upon notification that a certificated individual has been convicted of a 
nonrenewable offense, the Board shall revoke the certificate. 

Unprofessional and Immoral Conduct 
Individuals holding certificates issued by the Board pursuant to R7- 
2-601 and individuals applying for certificates issued by the Board

pursuant to R7-2-601 shall: 

1. Make reasonable efforts to protect pupils from conditions
harmful to learning, health, or safety;

2. Account for all funds collected from pupils, parents, or school
personnel;

3. Adhere to provisions of the Uniform System of Financial
Records related to use of school property, resources, or
equipment; and 

4. Abide by copyright restrictions, security, or administration
procedures for a test or assessment.

Individuals holding certificates issued by the Board pursuant to R7- 
2-601 and individuals applying for certificates issued by the Board

pursuant to R7-2-601 shall not: 

1. Discriminate against or harass any pupil or school employee
on the basis of race, national origin, religion, sex, including
sexual orientation, disability, color or age; 

2. Deliberately suppress or distort information or facts relevant
to a pupil’s academic progress;

3. Misrepresent or falsify pupil, classroom, school, or district- 
level data from the administration of a test or assessment;

4. Engage in a pattern of conduct for the sole purpose or with the
sole intent of embarrassing or disparaging a pupil;

5. Use professional position or relationships with pupils, parents,
or colleagues for improper personal gain or advantage;

6. Falsify or misrepresent documents, records, or facts related to
professional qualifications or educational history or character;

7. Assist in the professional certification or employment of a
person the certificate holder knows to be unqualified to hold
a position;

8. Accept gratuities or gifts that influence judgment in the
exercise of professional duties;

9. Possess, consume, or be under the influence of alcohol on
school premises or at school-sponsored activities;

10. Illegally possess, use, or be under the influence of marijuana,
dangerous drugs, or narcotic drugs, as each is defined in A.R.S.
§ 13-3401; 

11. Make any sexual advance towards a pupil or child, either 
verbal, written, or physical;

12. Engage in sexual activity, a romantic relationship, or dating of 
a pupil or child;

13. Submit fraudulent requests for reimbursement of expenses or 
for pay;

14. Use school equipment to access pornographic, obscene, or 
illegal materials;

15. Engage in conduct which would discredit the teaching
profession.

Individuals found to have engaged in unprofessional or immoral conduct 
shall be subject to, and may be disciplined by, the Board. 

Resignation as an Unprofessional Act and Penalty: ARS §15-545 
A certificated teacher shall not resign after signing and returning his 
contract, unless the resignation is first approved by the governing board. 
A teacher who resigns contrary to this section shall be deemed to commit 
an unprofessional act and, upon request of the governing board, shall be 
subject to such disciplinary action, including suspension and revocation 
of certificate, as the state board of education deems appropriate. 

Failing to Report of Immoral or Unprofessional Conduct 
Pursuant to ARS §15-514, any certificated person or governing board 
member who reasonably suspects or receives a reasonable allegation 
that a person certificated by the state board of education has engaged 
in conduct involving minors that would be subject to the reporting 
requirements of section 13-3620 (mandatory reporting) shall report or 
cause reports to be made to the department of education in writing as 
soon as reasonably practicable but not later than three business days 
after the person first suspects or receives allegation of the conduct. 

The superintendent of a school district or the chief administrator of 
a charter school who reasonably suspects or receives a reasonable 
allegation that an act of immoral or unprofessional conduct that would 
constitute grounds for dismissal or criminal charges by a certificated 
person has occurred shall report the conduct to the department of 
education. 

Failure to report information as required in ARS §15-514 by a certificated 
person constitutes grounds for disciplinary action by the state board of 
education. 

A governing board member or school district employee who has control 
over personnel decisions and who reasonably suspects or receives a 
reasonable allegation that a person certificated by the state board of 
education has engaged in conduct involving minors that would be subject 
to the reporting requirements of ARS §§ 13-3620 and 15-514 shall not 
accept the resignation of the certificate holder until these suspicions or 
allegations have been reported to the State Board of Education. 

Filing a Complaint against a Certificate Holder 
The Investigative Unit may be reached at (602) 542-2972 or 

investigation@azed.gov 

For Further Information: Call or Email 
State Board of Education 

(602) 542-5057 inbox@azsbe.az.gov 

Updated 10/28/16 

Pursuant to section 41-1093.01, Arizona Revised Statutes, an agency shall limit all occupational regulations 
to regulations that are demonstrated to be necessary to specifically fulfill a public health, safety or welfare 
concern. Pursuant to sections 41-1093.02 and 41-1093.03, Arizona Revised Statutes, you have the right to 
petition this agency to repeal or modify the occupational regulation or bring an action in a court of general 
jurisdiction to challenge the occupational regulation and to ensure compliance with section 41-1093.01, 
Arizona Revised Statutes. 

mailto:investigation@azed.gov
mailto:inbox@azsbe.az.gov

