

State of Arizona Department of Education

Health and Nutrition Services Division School Health and Safety



HNS 05-2018

MEMORANDUM

Date:	March 15, 2018				
To:	Driver Education Instructors/Coordinators				
From:	Nerissa Emers, Director School Health and Safety Unit Original Signed				
Subject:	Renewal of 2018-2019 School Year Driver Education Program Application (enclosed)				

The Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application for the 2018-2019 school year is enclosed. If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to participate in this program, please complete and mail the application by **May 31, 2018** to the address listed on the form (please do not fax the application). The requirements of the Driver Education Program are:

- 1. Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction;
- 2. Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction;
- 3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education endorsement; and
- 4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information.

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a class G driver license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 of those hours at night. High school driver education programs approved by the ADE are approved programs under this law.

The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education instructors in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the course. MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver's license test for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer BTW tests to any applicant. Contact MVD Driver Services at (602) 712-4700 for more information. Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at the same number, or viewed/printed online at:

https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals.

Information on driver education endorsements may be found at ADE's Certifications website at <u>http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/forms-and-information/endorsements/</u>.

Yavapai County Education Service Agency provides a series of workshop courses that can be applied towards a Driver Education Endorsement for Summer 2018. The workshop courses are Driver Education, Safety Education and Behind-the-Wheel for new drivers. Each workshop is \$250.00 per student and must be

Diane M. Douglas, Superintendent of Public Instruction

1535 West Jefferson Street, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 • (602) 542-8700 • www.azed.gov This institution is an equal opportunity provider. enrolled by May 6, 2018. For more information and enrollment registration, click the link: <u>http://ycesa.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Spring-2018-Driver-Education-Endorsement-Workshops-Registration.pdf</u>.

If you have questions regarding the ADE Driver Education Program, please contact Davidson Riggs at (602) 542-8730 or <u>davidson.riggs@azed.gov</u>. Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and well-being of our students.

Return to: Arizona Department of Education School Health and Safety 1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin 29 Phoenix, AZ 85007 Phone: (602) 542-8730	ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM 2018-2019 APPLICATION			NO FAXES PLEASE RETURN BY MAY 31, 2018			
Email: Davidson.Riggs@azed.gov PART I: SCHOOL DATA							
Note: Submit a separate application for each school requesting approval.							
School:	Date:	E-mail:					
District:	County:	Phone: ()	Fax: ()			
MAILING address:							
Physical address:							
Number of students expected	Contact person of			Phone: (if			
to complete both classroom and behind the wheel:	Drivers Education program:			different () from above)			
Driver License Manuals may be requested the https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver	hrough the MVD at (602) 712-4700 or						

PART II: INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF (List all instructors)

Note: Each instructor **must** have a current Arizona teaching certificate with a driver education endorsement registered with his/her county school superintendent's office. Instructors who teach at more than one high school must include their names on the staff list of **every** school where they teach.

Full name as it appears on your driver's license	Driver's license number*	For MVD use only	Social security number	Classroom		Behind the wheel	
First Name Middle Name Last Name				Y	Ν	Y	Ν

PART III: CLASSROOM DRIVER ED	UCATION INSTRUCTION						
CALCULATIO	N OF TOTAL CLASSROOM MINUTES OF	F DRIVER EDUCATION IN	ISTRUCTION				
	×	_					
A. Length of class in minutes A. Length of class in minutes A. Length of class in minutes of days of instruction specifically on driver education (Minimum of 1800 minutes)							
•	uirement in your charter school or district?						
PART IV: BEHIND-THE-WHEEL DRI							
	acation program must receive at least 6 clock ever time. At least 3 hours of the required tot multi-car driving ranges. (4 hours of simula	al of 6 hours must be on-the	-street driving instruction.	The remainder			
A. Does your driver education progra	um use simulators ? Y N						
If YES , how many hours of simul	ator instruction does each student receive?			hours			
If YES, how many hours of on-the	- e-street or multi-car driving range instruction	does each student receive?		hours			
(Must be at least 3 hours) If NO, how many hours of on-the-street or multi-car driving range instruction does each student receive?							
		-	(Must be at least 6 hou	rs)			
B. What is the fee charged for behind	l-the-wheel instruction:						
C. What is the fee charged for classre							
PART V: CONTINUING EDUCATION Note: List each instructor from Part II and list driver education.	N/PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT the most recent continuing education (CE) or			tly related to			
Instructor Name (from Part II)	Name of CE or PD Course/Training/Conference	Name of Organization T	That Sponsored CE or PD	Date Attended			
PART VI: SIGNATURE I certify that the information provided in	this application is true and accurate, and repr	esents the driver education p	rogram as it will be conduc	cted this year.			
Signature Of Superintendent Or Principal:	TITLE:		Date:				
*Must have a valid Arizona drivers license	*******			·			