

State of Arizona Department of Education Office of Diane M. Douglas Arizona Superintendent of Education



602-542-5072

Stefan.Swiat@azed.gov

Stefan Swiat

Department Recognizes 35 Schools for Dedication to High Quality Civic Engagement

(Phoenix, Ariz., Feb. 20, 2018) - Superintendent of Public Instruction Diane Douglas today announced that 35 Arizona public schools are being recognized as 2016-17 Arizona Civic Engagement schools by the Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Excellence in Civic Engagement Program (ECEP). Now in its fifth year, ECEP recognizes and supports the important role schools play in ensuring that students are informed and engaged citizens.

"The most important work we conduct in education is preparing our students to become successful citizens and help perpetuate a prosperous republic," Superintendent Douglas said. "There are few things I see as more important than helping them understand their civic rights, roles and responsibilities as American citizens. The schools being honored as part of the ECEP program are shining examples of the work being done in Arizona to prepare our students to actively participate in their communities and government when they leave the school system."

ECEP identifies schools that demonstrate knowledge and effective implementation of the following six proven practices in civic learning: classroom instruction in civics and government, history, economics, geography, law and democracy; service learning linked to classroom learning; experiential learning; learning through participation in models and simulations of democratic processes and procedures; guided classroom discussion of current issues and events; and meaningful participation in school governance.

Public schools from around the state, both traditional and charter, applied for recognition as an Arizona Civic Engagement school with one of the following designations: School of Merit, School of Distinction or School of Excellence. Of those schools, 19 have been recognized as Schools of Merit, eight have been honored as Schools of Distinction and eight have received the most prestigious recognition as Schools of Excellence.

The schools will be formally recognized at an award ceremony at the 5th Annual Civic Learning Conference on March 2, 2018.

For more information about ADE's Excellence in Civic Engagement Program, please visit www.azed.gov/civicengagement.

Excellence in Civic Engagement Program Award Recipients 2016-17

SCHOOLS OF MERIT

SCHOOL Arizona College Preparatory, Oakland Campus

Benson High School Fremont Junior High School Imagine Prep- Surprise Kino Junior High School Kyrene de los Lagos Dual Language Academy Kyrene Traditional Academy - Sureno Campus Mendoza Elementary Mesa High School Mountain View High School

Poston Junior High School Sandra Day O'Connor High School Sirrine Elementary School Smith Junior High School Summit Academy Superstition High School Taylor Junior High School Tres Rios Service Academy West Wing School

SCHOOLS OF DISTINCTION

SCHOOL

Carson Junior High Chandler High School Cocopah Middle School Dobson High School East Valley Academy

DISTRICT

Chandler Unified School District Benson Unified School District Mesa Public Schools Charter Mesa Public Schools

Kvrene School District Kyrene School District Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools Deer Valley Unified School District

Mesa Public Schools Littleton School District

Deer Valley Unified School District

DISTRICT

Mesa Public Schools Chandler Unified School District Scottsdale Unified School District Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools

Franklin Junior High School

New School for the Arts and Academics Skyline High School

SCHOOLS OF EXCELLENCE

SCHOOL

Arizona School for the Arts Basha High School Hamilton High School Red Mountain High School Rhodes Junior High School Safford K-8 Magnet School Shepherd Junior High School Westwood High School

Mesa Public Schools

Charter

Mesa Public Schools

DISTRICT

Charter Chandler Unified School District Chandler Unified School District Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools Tucson Unified School District Mesa Public Schools Mesa Public Schools

Fnd