

State of Arizona Department of Education

Health and Nutrition Services Division School Health and Safety

HNS 07-2019

MEMORANDUM

Date:	April 5, 2019	1
To:	Driver Education Instructors/Coordinators	Original Signed
From:	Cara Alexander, Deputy Associate Superintendent Health and Nutrition Services	Orige
Subject:	Renewal of 2019-2020 School Year Driver Education	on Program Application (enclosed)

The Arizona Department of Education (ADE) Driver Education Program application for the 2019-2020 school year is enclosed. If your school meets the stated requirements and would like to participate in this program, please complete and mail the application by **May 31, 2019** to the address listed on the form (please do not fax the application). The requirements of the Driver Education Program are:

- 1. Students receive at least 30 hours of classroom instruction;
- 2. Students receive at least 6 hours (or the equivalent) of behind-the-wheel (BTW) instruction;
- 3. The class and BTW is taught by a certified teacher with a driver education endorsement; and
- 4. The principal or superintendent verifies the school information.

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 28-3174 requires, in part, that minors interested in receiving a class G driver license must successfully complete an approved driver education program or have a parent or guardian certify that they received 30 hours of supervised driving practice with at least 10 of those hours at night. High school driver education programs approved by the ADE are approved programs under this law.

The Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), allows driver education instructors in participating schools to issue Certificates of Completion to their students who successfully complete the course. MVD waives the BTW portion of the driver's license test for students with Certificates of Completion, although they reserve the right to administer BTW tests to any applicant. Contact MVD Driver Services at (602) 712-4700 for more information. Driver License Manuals may be requested through the MVD at the same number, or viewed/printed online at:

https://azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/driver-services/Tests_Manuals_and_Driving_Schools/manuals.

Information on driver education endorsements may be found at ADE's Certifications website at <u>http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/forms-and-information/endorsements/</u>.

If you have questions regarding the ADE Driver Education Program, please contact Davidson Riggs at (602) 542-8730 or <u>davidson.riggs@azed.gov</u>. Thank you for your efforts to ensure the safety and well-being of our students.

Kathy Hoffman, Superintendent of Public Instruction

1535 West Jefferson Street, Phoenix, Arizona 85007 • (602) 542-8700 • www.azed.gov This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

Return to: Arizona Department of Education School Health and Safety 1535 W. Jefferson Street, Bin 29 Phoenix, AZ 85007 Phone: (602) 542-8730	ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION DRIVER EDUCATION PROGRAM 2019-2020 APPLICATION			NO FAXES PLEASE RETURN BY MAY 31, 2019			
Email: Davidson.Riggs@azed.gov							
PART I: SCHOOL DATA Note: Submit a separate application for each school requesting approval.							
School:	Date:	E-mail:					
District:	County:	Phone: ()	Fax: ()			
MAILING address:							
Physical address:							
Number of students expected	Contact person of			Phone: (if			
to complete both classroom and	Drivers Education			different ()			
behind the wheel: program: from above)							
Driver License Manuals may be requested t https://www.azdot.gov/motor-vehicles/drive							

PART II: INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF (List all instructors)

Note: Each instructor **must** have a current Arizona teaching certificate with a driver education endorsement registered with his/her county school superintendent's office. Instructors who teach at more than one high school must include their names on the staff list of **every** school where they teach.

Full name as it appears on your driver's license	Driver's license number*	For MVD use only	Social security number	Classroom		Behind the wheel	
First Name Middle Name Last Name				Y	Ν	Y	Ν

PART II	I: CLASSROOM DRIVER ED	UCATION INSTRUCTION				
	CALCULATION	N OF TOTAL CLASSROOM MINUTES O	F DRIVER EDUC	ATION INSTRUCTION		
		×				
A. Length of class in minutes Number of days of instruction specifically on driver education (Minimum of 1800 minutes)						
В.		irement in your charter school or district?	Y 🗌	N 🗌		
		VER EDUCATION INSTRUCTION				
ac	ctual driving time, not passenger/observ	cation program must receive at least 6 clock ver time. At least 3 hours of the required to multi-car driving ranges. (4 hours of simul	tal of 6 hours must	t be on-the-street driving instruction	n. The remainder	
А.	Does your driver education program	m use simulators? Y \square N \square				
	If YES , how many hours of simula	tor instruction does each student receive?			hours	
	If YES, how many hours of on-the	-street or multi-car driving range instruction	does each student	receive?	hours	
				(Must be at least 3 ho	ours)	
	If NO, how many hours of on-the-	street or multi-car driving range instruction	loes each student r		hours	
B. C.	What is the fee charged for behind What is the fee charged for classro			(Must be at least 6 h	5 11 3)	
PART V Note: Lis	: CONTINUING EDUCATION	/PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT ne most recent continuing education (CE) or			ectly related to	
Ir	nstructor Name (from Part II)	Name of CE or PD Course/Training/Conference	Name of Orga	anization That Sponsored CE or PE	Date Attended	
PART V	I: SIGNATURE					
I c	ertify that the information provided in	this application is true and accurate, and rep	resents the driver e	education program as it will be cond	lucted this year.	
SUPERIN	TURE OF TENDENT INCIPAL:	Title:		Date:		
*Meret la	and a sullid A sime a deisson lissans					

*Must have a valid Arizona drivers license