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TEACHING INTERN CERTIFICATE  
The Teaching Intern certificate is valid for one year and may be extended yearly for no more than two consecutive 
years.  The Teaching Intern certificate entitles the holder to enter into a teaching contract while completing the 
requirements for an Arizona Provisional Teaching certificate.  The candidate shall be enrolled in an Arizona State 
Board authorized alternative path to certification program, or an Arizona State Board approved teacher 
preparation program. An individual is not eligible to hold the certificate more than once in a five-year period.   An 
individual who receives a Teaching intern certificate and does not meet the requirements for the Provisional or 
Standard teaching certificate shall not be eligible for an Emergency Teaching certificate. 

 

Requirements for the Teaching Intern Certificate – Year One: 
1. Completed Application for the Teaching Intern Certificate. 

 
2. A check or money order for the appropriate fee.  Fees are $60 for the Intern certificate.  There is an 

additional $60 fee if you are applying for the SEI endorsement.  Additional approved areas are $60 each. 
 

3. A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint 
card (plastic). For more information visit the Arizona Department of Public Safety website or call (602) 223-
2279. 
 

4. Official transcripts documenting a Bachelor’s or more advanced degree from an accredited institution. 
 
5. Subject Knowledge Exam * 

One of the following (A, B, or C) 
A. A passing score on one or more of the subject knowledge portion(s) of the Arizona Educator Exams 

in the subject/certificate area you are applying for (NES or AEPA). 
 

B. Master's degree in the appropriate subject area, verified by submitting official transcript(s).   
 

C. If a subject knowledge proficiency assessment is not offered, an approved area shall consist of 24 
semester hours of subject-related courses from an accredited institution.   

 
6. Verification letter indicating that the candidate is enrolled in an Arizona State Board approved alternative 

path to certification program or an Arizona State Board approved educator preparation program.  The letter 
must be signed by the appropriate designee from the educator preparation program.  (List of contacts from the 
Arizona State Board approved educator preparation programs).   
 

7. Individuals who are teaching in a Structured English Immersion (SEI) classroom must hold a Provisional or 
full SEI endorsement, or an ESL or Bilingual endorsement.  If you are applying for the SEI endorsement, 
submit an official transcript or certificate of training documenting completion of 3 semester hours or 45 clock 
hours of state approved SEI training.   

 
  Requirements # 8 and # 9 are required within one year or three years.** 

 
8. Arizona Constitution (a college course or the appropriate examination). 

 
9.  U.S. Constitution (a college course or the appropriate examination). 
 
**NOTE:  If you otherwise qualify for the certificate but are deficient in Arizona and/or U.S. Constitution you 
have three (3) years under a valid teaching certificate to fulfill the requirement, except that if you are teaching an 
academic course on History, Government, Social Studies, Citizenship, Law, or Civics, you have one (1) year to 
fulfill the requirement(s). 

 

 
 

http://www.azed.gov/Educator-Certification
https://cms.azed.gov/home/GetDocumentFile?id=57a4fc29aadebe130c51858f
http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Fingerprint/
http://www.azed.gov/highly-qualified-professionals/aepa-to-nes-transition/
http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/files/2013/10/ihealternativepathflyer.pdf?201601013-
http://www.azed.gov/educator-certification/files/2013/10/ihealternativepathflyer.pdf?201601013-
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EXTENSION OF THE TEACHING INTERN CERTIFICATE  
THE TEACHING INTERN CERTIFICATE MAY BE EXTENDED YEARLY FOR NO MORE THAN TWO CONSECUTIVE YEARS.  
Requirements for the Extension of the Teaching Intern Certificate: 
1. Completed Application to Extend a Teaching Intern Certificate.  There is NO FEE to extend the Teaching 

Intern certificate. 
 

2. A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint card 
(plastic).  For more information visit the Arizona Department of Public Safety website or call (602) 223-2279. 

 
3. A letter from the Board approved alternative path to certification program or an Arizona State Board 

authorized teacher preparation program verifying the completion of required coursework.   
 

4. Official transcripts documenting the required coursework must accompany the letter. 
 
5. Official transcript or exam score report documenting completion of the Arizona and US constitution 

requirements, if applicable.   
 

 

 

PROVISIONAL TEACHING CERTIFICATE  
THE PROVISIONAL CERTIFICATE IS VALID FOR 3 YEARS AND IS NOT RENEWABLE, BUT MAY BE EXTENDED ONCE FOR 3 
YEARS.  

Requirements for the Provisional Teaching certificate: 
1. Qualify and hold a valid Arizona Intern Certificate. 

 
2. Submission of an Institutional Recommendation verifying the successful completion of an Arizona State 

Board authorized alternative path to certification program or an Arizona State Board approved teacher 
preparation program. 
 

3. A passing score on the required NES/AEPA Professional Knowledge Exam. 
 
4. A photocopy of your valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints (IVP) fingerprint card 

(plastic).  For more information visit the Arizona Department of Public Safety website or call (602) 223-2279. 
 
5. Official transcript or exam score report documenting completion of the Arizona and U.S. Constitution 

requirements, if applicable. 

 

 
 
 

http://www.azed.gov/Educator-Certification
https://cms.azed.gov/home/GetDocumentFile?id=57a50763aadebe130c518662
http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Fingerprint/
http://www.azdps.gov/Services/Fingerprint/

